Skip to content

Toilets: A Spotter`s Guide Book
HA0009

£7.99
Out of stock
Giftwrap

Description

Loos with incredible views, lavish lavatories, outstanding outhouses - all are featured in this pictorial guide to the world's most stunning toilets. Whether they're high-tech or arty, amusing or amazing, each toilet has a photo and a description of its location. More than 100 restrooms to remember are featured, from Antarctica to Zambia.

As any experienced traveller knows, you can tell a whole lot about a place by its bathrooms. Whatever you prefer to call them - lavatory, loo, bog, khasi, thunderbox, dunny, bathroom, restroom, washroom or water closet - toilets are a (sometimes opaque, often wide-open) window into the secret soul of a destination.

It's not just how well they're looked after that's revealing, but where they are positioned and the way they've been conceptualised, designed and decorated. Toilets so often transcend their primary function of being a convenience to become a work of art in their own right, or to make a cultural statement about the priorities, traditions and values of the venues, locations and communities they serve.

The lavatory is a great leveller - everyone feels the call of nature, every day - but being ubiquitous doesn't make it uniform. Around the planet (and beyond it, see page 12), toilets have followed various evolutionary pathways to best suit their environment.

In these pages, you'll find porcelain pews with fantastic views, audacious attention-seeking urban outhouses, and eco-thrones made from sticks and stones in all sorts of wild settings, from precipitous mountain peaks to dusty deserts. So, wherever you're reading this, we hope you're sitting comfortably.

Delivery

Covid-19 Delivery Update

Penny Black is open for business and we aim to continue to deliver the best level of service during this time. Orders placed through our website are being picked, packed and dispatched as normal and we still endeavour to dispatch orders placed before 4pm, the same day.

Please note that delivery times may take longer than usual because Royal Mail, whilst also remaining open for business, have a much increased load on their network at this time and many alterations to their working practices to keep everyone safe. Royal Mail have also changed their 1pm time guarantee on Next Day Special Delivery services to 4pm and made changes to their package handling processes to allow for contactless handovers. Up-to-date service changes with Royal Mail can be found here.

The health and safety of our customers, colleagues and supply chain is of paramount importance to us. All our colleagues are supplied with PPE, a clean working environment, hand sanitiser as well as up to date hygiene and personal care advice. Procedures are in place for dispatch with Royal Mail operatives to ensure preventative guidance from the Public Health Authority are followed, helping to prevent any spread of infection.

Standard Delivery

Orders placed before 4pm will be dispatched same day by Royal Mail 1st Class.

Royal Mail state that 93% of First Class mail arrives the next working day, but some can take up to three working days.

We offer free Standard Delivery for orders over £20 and orders over £50 will be sent 1st Class Recorded Signed For.

Next Day Guaranteed Delivery *

Where Next Day Guaranteed Delivery is selected, the order will be dispatched by Royal Mail Special Delivery. This service is a guaranteed by 1pm next working day service, is tracked end-to-end and requires a signature on arrival.

  • Orders placed before 4pm Monday to Friday and before 11am Saturday will be dispatched the same day.
  • Orders after 11am Saturday, or Sunday will be dispatched the next working day.
  • Orders dispatched using this service on a Friday or Saturday will be guaranteed for the following Monday.

We offer free Next Day Guaranteed Delivery for orders over £75.

*Excludes Sundays and UK Bank Holidays.

Saturday Guaranteed Delivery

Special Delivery sometimes arrives on a Saturday, but if you want to guarantee your order is received by 1pm on a Saturday, please select the appropriate option. Your order will be dispatched by Royal Mail Special Delivery Saturday Guaranteed. Orders must be placed before 4pm Friday. Special Delivery Saturday Guaranteed by Royal Mail is a guaranteed by 1pm Saturday service, is tracked end-to-end and requires a signature on arrival.

Named Day Delivery

Orders where Named Day Delivery is selected will be dispatched by Royal Mail Special Delivery to guarantee arrival on the named day. Special Delivery by Royal Mail is a guaranteed by 1pm next day service, is tracked end-to-end and requires a signature on arrival.

Standard Delivery to EU and ROW

Orders to EU and ROW will be sent by Royal Mail standard Airmail. Shipping times for EU are up to 5 working days and ROW are up to 10 working days, however there are a number of things that can cause delay to the duration that are out of control of Penny Black such as customs, local processes and extreme weather. Please check the Royal Mail website for up to date advisory notices.

Premium Delivery to EU and ROW

To track your order to EU and ROW, you may select a tracked option, which will be sent Royal Mail Tracked & Signed Airmail or Royal Mail Tracked Airmail depending on the receiving country's mail system. Shipping times for EU are normally 2-5 working days and ROW are normally 2-7 working days, however there are a number of things that can cause delay to the duration that are out of control of Penny Black such as customs, local processes and extreme weather. We offer free Premium International Delivery for orders over £75.

Tracking a Delivery

We use a variety of different postal and courier services, depending on the size/value/weight and delivery destination of an order. You will be notified once your order has successfully been dispatched and if you have selected a shipping option where tracking is applicable, this will be included within the email. As the tracking format can change depending on the delivery agent, here are a few examples.

  • Royal Mail (untracked): 21 digit number(I.E. 0D042918300000008DC1D)
  • Royal Mail (tracked): 13 digit number(I.E. KP804092530GB)
  • FedEx:12 digit number(I.E.779126303695)
  • Parcel Force: (I.E PBJE4088348001, JE4088348 SOMETIMES WILL CONTAIN GB ON THE END)
  • DHL: 10 digit number(I.E. 2648333095)

If you require any assistance with the tracking of your order, please contact our customer service team directly on hello@penny-black.co.uk

Returns

  1. Contact us to obtain a Return Authorisation
  2. Package your return.  All items to be returned (other than those which are faulty) must be in a saleable condition and returned in their original protective packaging, while the outer packaging can be of your choice (i.e. box, padded envelope, etc)
  3. Include your Return Authorisation Number - make sure this is included inside the package.
  4. Address your package: Returns Dept, Penny Black Glasgow Ltd, 721-723 Great Western Road, Glasgow, G12 8QX.
  5. Send It.  It is advised that you use Royal Mail Recorded Delivery to return your item so you can ensure receipt at our warehouse. The package is your responsibility until it arrives at our warehouse, so we recommend that you keep a certificate of posting for your records. Please note the costs of returning items will be at your own expense unless faulty or otherwise agreed with us.

In the unlikely case that the items are received damaged or not re-saleable, we reserve the right not to provide a refund to you and you will be responsible for the cost of such items being returned to you within 28 days. This does not affect your statutory rights.

Postage and Packaging

In the case that items you have purchased are faulty or damaged, we will refund all postage and packaging costs you have paid for receipt and return of the item, unless it was sent to you with other items you are not returning.

So that we can refund your return postage cost, please include a copy of the receipt detailing your postage costs - without this we can only refund you the cost of the item being returned.

Undelivered Packages

A package may be "undelivered" for a number of reasons, typically where the shipping address is incorrect, an item requiring a signature has not been signed for or a failed delivery attempt has not been collected from collection office and has then been returned to sender.

Where an undelivered package is returned to us, we will issue a full refund for the purchase excluding shipping fee. We are unable to re-send undelivered packages, so if you would still like the item, please place a new order.

Reviews

This product has not yet been reviewed

Related items

Be More Dog Book Be More Dog Book
£7.99
In stock
Embrace your inner canine and Be More Dog! From finding your wag to barking loudly and making friends, this book will show you how to say 'woof, woof, woof' to life. Whether it's a mad dash around the local park or sneaking an errant sausage off the BBQ, the world is a wagtastically wonderful place full of fun and treats if you're willing to open your heart. From Great Danes to Miniature Dachshund…
I`ll Be There For You Friends Book I`ll Be There For You Friends Book
£9.99
In stock
Have you arrived at a crossroads in your life? Who better to turn to than Rachel, Phoebe, Joey, Chandler, Ross & Monica of Friends, one of the most popular TV shows of all time. Find out which of the six is your spirit animal with the Which Friends Character Are You? quiz, dubious dating advice from Joey Tribbiani and master the art of the witty comeback with Chandler. There are recipes from Monic…
Pocket RuPaul Wisdom Book Pocket RuPaul Wisdom Book
£5.99
In stock
Shante, this book stays! Slay your office Secret Santa this year with this book of wisdom from everyone's favourite glamazon. Give the gift of charisma, uniqueness, nerve and talent with this Pocket RuPaul Wisdom book! Perfect for fans of RuPaul's Drag Race, this collection of inspirational quotes and motivational phrases will have you throwing shade with the best of queens in no time.
Scottish Bothy Walks Book Scottish Bothy Walks Book
£16.99
In stock
A follow-up to best-selling The Scottish Bothy Bible this beautifully illustrated walking companion selects the ultimate best walks to the best bothies, with detailed maps. Using the bothy as the reference point, Geoff Allan guides the reader on a mix of day walks and multi-day adventures to his favourite bothies highlighting the incredible wildlife, geography, history and culture that you will fi…
Trustpilot

Hello,

We are very sorry, but the browser you are visting us with is outdated and not complient with our website security.

Please upgrade your browser to a modern secure version to view our website.